06 February 2017

Fancy Shenanigans

Hi all -

Sorry for the long delay between posts. Work is...well work! Plus I have been a bit busy with this weird new game call "Star Wars Destiny".  (Good Luck finding cards ;-) )

Recently on a reddit thread, a friend of the bar and owner of Curled Paw Creatives posted about his top 8 list for the Tennessee regional. Basically, the fancy shenanigans that have caused some debate is one that allows you to miss, re-target and then shoot twice more. Sound interesting eh? Lets dive in.

The list is:

Aggressor: · IG-88B (36)
 Tractor Beam (1)
 IG-2000 (0)

YV-666: · Bossk (35)
 "Mangler" Cannon (4)
 · IG-88D (1)
 Gunner (5)
 · Dengar (3)
 Burnout SLAM (1)

The key to the list is the IG-88D crew card which allows you to have the pilot ability of each friendly ship with the IG-2000 upgrade card. With Bossk sharing the pilot ability from IG-88B via his equipped IG-88D (Once per round, after you perform an attack that does not hit, you may perform an attack with an equipped cannon secondary weapon) along with Gunner (After you perform an attack that does not hit, you may immediately perform a primary weapon attack) this tricky combo can allow you to attack three different times. How does this work you ask?

Bossk targets the farthest target away from him or the most likely target to cause the shot to miss. Bossk fires away and shot misses. This triggers step 9 in the timing chart (identify abilities that trigger "after attacking" or "after defending" that perform an attack). Then Bossk may acquire a different ship to attack per page 4 of the rules guide (the attacker chooses one enemy ship to be the target and pays any cost required for the attack) and it is common to target the closest ship that Bossk has within his primary firing arc. He (yes there are female Trandoshans, just in case you were wondering) then triggers either Gunner or IG-88D. He then may use whatever ability he did not previously resolve (i.e. Bossk triggers Gunner first and then may trigger IG-88D next). Per step 9 of the timing chart, these abilities stack and can be resolved in the same attack sequence.

Nifty eh? We thought so...

Previously when IG-88D was released, this ability combination was not viable in play. This was because of the lack of the timing chart and the rules clarifications that required players to choose abilities to resolve. With the release of the timing chart, this combination becomes a viable options.

Now before Mr. Birmingham Baron (they live here) took this particular list to a regional, he wanted to confirm that this combination was indeed correct. Now our good 'ol friend Frank replied with an affirmative reply:

"Hello Andrew,

In response to your rules question: Rules Question: So I have a question about how a couple cards interact now that there has been a Step 9 Clarification of how >multiple abilities that trigger are "stacked" to the next step 9 of a combat turn. Specifically these cards listed >below. IG-88B - Once per round, after you perform an attack that does not hit, you may perform an attack with >an equipped Cannon secondary weapon. Gunner - After you perform an attack that does not hit, you may >immediately perform a primary weapon attack. You cannot perform another attack this round. So if I have a list >like the
Alex Davy (left) and Frank Brooks (right) 
one below. • Bossk YV-666 Veteran Instincts “Mangler” Cannon IG-88D\ Dengar Gunner Burnout Slam >Engine Upgrade • IG88-B Aggressor Veteran Instincts Fire-Control System “Mangler” Cannon Inertial >Dampeners IG-2000 Autothrusters Step 9 is currently worded: 9. Identify abilities that trigger “after attacking” >or “after defending” that perform an attack (such as BTL-A4 Y-wing, Dengar [ship], Gunner, etc.) i. Player with >initiative chooses 1 of his abilities to resolve ii. If no ability was chosen in step (i), the other player chooses 1 of >his abilities to resolve iii. Any abilities that were not chosen, are added to the step 9 of the next attack With the >way Step 9 is currently worded, When shooting with Bossk, If I miss my first attack, Both IG-88B's pilot ability >triggered due to IG-88D crew, along with Gunner Crew. Because they trigger at the same time, I now get to >choose which order they are resolved. I choose to resolve IG-88B first and get to shoot with my Mangler Cannon >at the Target. I hit the target. I am now back at Step 9 from the Mangler attack, which hit. So now I choose to >resolve Gunner, which triggered from the initial missed attack that also triggered IG-88B. I follow through the >normal attack steps and after Gunner is resolved I can no longer perform any attacks this round. I would like >this clarification as this is how our current league plays this combo. We are all in agreeance at how it is worded. >With Regionals currently underway we would just some some official wording when bringing this kind of list to a >larger competition. Thank you again! Andrew

You are correct. There is an example similar to this (slightly less crazy) on page 20 of the FAQ. You could resolve >the IG-88B ability after the initial miss, then resolve the Gunner effect even though you hit with the IG-88B >secondary weapon attack.
Thanks for playing,
Frank Brooks Associate Creative Content Developer Fantasy Flight Games"

Well thanks Frank! What a pal

I found this combination to be quite inventive and creative. I guess it might just take the owner/designer from our beloved custom X-Wing templates store (Curled Paw Creatives) to come up with something so...creative.

This has my head spinning with other possibilities...now if only Dengar had a Cannon slot.

Have any other interesting combinations? Let us know!

Peace out and eat hamburgers

No comments:

Post a Comment